Me-Not-Forgetting Sun

DSC_1001

It’s November now and I’m sitting looking out at blue sky and a big yellow sun. Barcelona is spoiling me – summer sun doesn’t seem like a distant memory! This means even my premature Christmas excitement should be reigned in.

Kidding, I did say ‘should’ after all.
I just sent my house this whatsapp: “THERE ARE ONLY SEVEN MORE FRIDAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS!!”
(I know you just turned into a child then too).

Anyway, as it’s still sun here I can still post a summer appropriate cake; a light cake, an includes one of your five-a-day cake, a we don’t need comfort food yet cake. I’m really good at not feeling guilty about eating cake and rationalising the health benefits.

So, in case you hadn’t already guessed, I have up and left to a new bed in Barcelona. There is a lot I can say about this, all excellent, but that’s a whole other blog…. (should you watch this space? Maybe…)
I so far am barely barely working and yet I can pay my rent (albeit, rent and rent only but we’re ok with that), so the rest of my time I can invest in eating a lot of food and drinking a lot of wine (yes, ideally this should be free). I have made some excellent life decisions. The weather also gives me little to complain about; I can still swim in the sea; I can still pretend to get (not at all) tanned; I don’t have to invest in a coat yet, shall I go on? There is one thing, tiny in the grand scheme of things but also not, also huge and a bit of a problem: our oven doesn’t like to play ball. Yes it works, but it has a strong, independent mind; it does what it wants, when it wants. Not typically what you ask for in an oven. A lot of what we make has to end up being grilled whilst we watch on channeling the Bake Off Final contestants.
This cake is one I made back in England, maybe on it’s only day of sun… I’m itching to bake here, but instead I’m torturing myself with old pictures of what once was.

DSC_1012

I know: get the violins out huh?!

DSC_1009

Oh yeah? Also! Who knew you could eat forget-me-nots?! I thought they genuinely were a good-for-nothing weed. Actually no, my mum thinks that, I think they’re pretty. Seeing as there seems to be no end to them in Spring, you may as well be positive and now there is all the more reason to be. I dipped them in egg white and sugar and left them to dry, then not only do the look pretty but they taste of sugar! Who’s complaining now?

This is a white chocolate and Blackberry Cake and this is the recipe:

9 oz butter

5 oz white chocolate drops

16 oz caster sugar

1 cup milk

8 oz plain flour

3 oz self-raising flour

1 tsb vanilla extract

2 eggs, beaten

……

4 oz white chocolate drops

1/3 cup double cream

8 oz butter

1.5 lbs icing sugar

……

To begin, preheat your oven to 170C and grease and line a round cake tin.
Next combine your butter, sugar, chocolate and milk in a pan over a low heat.
Stir until melted and smooth.
Transfer this mixture to a large mixing bowl and cool for 20 minutes.
Whisk in both the flours, followed by the vanilla extract and then the eggs.
Pour this into your prepared tin and bake for 50-60 minutes.

If the top is catching then cover the tin loosely with foil and continue to bake.

…..

For the buttercream, bring the cream up to the boil and pour over the white chocolate drops, stir together until glossy. Next whisk together the butter and half icing sugar until smooth and creamy, continue to add the remaining icing sugar and then slowly mix in the white chocolate mixture.

…..

The filling was made from mascarpone and crushed blackberries.

DSC_1020

Leave a Reply

