Resolutions yeah.

Remember that time way back? I think they called it January? That time where people supposedly make loose deals with themselves to do something better or something new or get it right. Yeah I don’t really either.

Porthcurno Nighttime
January can be quite lovely at times

Having said all that, I was (ashamedly) one of those people who made 40 + vows to become Wonder Woman by 2016. Obviously it all starts with; get fit, loose weight, be healthy, blah blah vegetables, blah, stop eating cakes, blah blah. Suffice to say that did not last long. Others included learning 3 instruments, 2 languages, becoming an expert in ‘x’, ‘y’ and ‘z’ and replying to texts on the same day as opposed to in the same month. Anyway, I have come to learn that January, for me, is not the start of the year and not the start of resolutions.

I’m not too upset by my obvious failure to do any of these but rather am feeling more optimistic that I have realised these don’t matter. I have time to do what I want and when I want and I can start, very slowly, to achieve something, however small.

DSC_0990

Here I am going to share a recipe with you that is one of my ‘small steps in the right direction’, by this I mean I use coconut oil instead of butter and fruit instead of chocolate.
(Yes, to me, this does count)

DSC_0994

They are Cranberry, Orange and Coconut Bars:

1 cup sliced almonds

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup white flour

1/2 cup palm sugar

pinch of salt

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 egg

2 tbsp canola oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp desiccated coconut

5 cups cranberries

3/4 cup honey

1/2 cup fresh orange juice

1/4 cup cornflour

1 cup chopped (peeled) orange

1 1/2 tsp orange zest

1 tsp vanilla extract

Firstly I’d like you all to preheat your oven to 200 C and grease and line a baking tray.
Then start the crumbly topping by combining 3/4 cup of almond, whole wheat flour, plain flour, 1/2 cup palm sugar and salt in a food processor. Pulse it until the almonds are corsely ground. Next add the coconut oil and blend in.
Whisk the egg, canola oil and vanilla extract in a small  bowl then, with the food processor still on, pour in through the feed and continue to process until the mixture becomes crumbly. They will be loose crumbs.
Reserve 1/2 a cup of this crumb mix with the rest of your almonds and press the rest into the bottom of your baking tray.
 DSC_0993
The filling consists of stirring 3 cups of the cranberries, the honey, orange juice and cornflour in a saucepan. Heat this over a medium heat and bring to a simmer, stirring it often. Continue cooking until it becomes thick, the stir in the rest of the cranberries, chopped orange, zest and vanilla extract. Spread this filling over the almond mixture and sprinkle over the reserved filling with the desiccated coconut.
Bake this in the oven for 15 minutes then reduce the heat of the oven to 180 C and cook for a further 25 minutes.
Cool and then cut into bars or squares. Or whatever, I don’t mind.
DSC_0989
Leave a Reply

