New Beginnings

As you might have guessed by the not-so-subtle name change, things are going to be a little different around here.

food

Firstly, and for this I am sorry, I am no longer dairy free. Sorry y’all. I eat cream and drink butter.
Joking, that would be gross but I do sometimes just want a little bit of butter for my bread.

I was worn down, let’s be honest, no-one else really wanted dairy free cakes and if I am the only one eating them then that’s probably worse than having just one slice of a butter and cream filled cake…. Am I wrong?
No, because I’m never wrong.
So I am back to normality. …. Perhaps if I’m feeling good (or bad, take that as you will) there will be the odd dairy-free recipe back here to say hi!

Secondly, I am no longer on my own! Joining me here will be my creative, art student of a younger brother. Though perhaps he would rather be thought of as a concept, as is the nature of his work (or non-work) it seems. Not sure what these artist folks are like these days.
Anyway, he will be sharing photos, drawings, scribbles, and ramblings from Falmouth or Cornwall in general. Easy on the eye for you as he less likes words.
You might also be graced with his art studies. He is yet to give me an original piece, so Will, if and when you get here, this is a hint.

Will and I

We will share our findings, recipes and thoughts on ‘things’, hopefully learning a thing or two along the way.

So. First non-non-dairy post. How exciting is this moment. I know you’re all on the edge of your seats like dairy is a new thaanng. Look at all this butter and cream! I sort of feel like this post should just be ‘How to make Butter’. Somebody tell me to stop…
Alas, it is just another cake recipe, one that actually happens to have considerably less butter than many…

Chocolate Orange Cake 60

Chocolate, Orange Cake with a Rosemary Buttercream:
(Recipe adapted from: Oatgasm)

Cake:

4 cups Caster Sugar

Zest of 1 Orange

2 1/2 cups Plain Flour

1 1/2 cups Cocoa Powder

3 tsp Baking Soda

2 tsp Baking Powder

2 pinches Salt

4 Eggs

2 tsp Vanilla Essence

2 cups Milk with Lemon (basically buttermilk)

1 cup Vegetable Oil

Juice of half an Orange

2 cups Boiling Water

A few hours (or even a day, if you’re keen) before you start, combine the caster sugar and the orange, rub it in with your fingers to release the oils. This will give the sugar, and thus your cake, it’s lovely orange flavour. It also looks, tastes and smells like sherbet (probably because it pretty much is…).

Preheat your oven to 180C, grease and line your tin, etc etc.

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients; flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs then add the milk with lemon (or buttermilk, whatever), vanilla, oil  and orange juice.
Slowly pour all the wet ingredients into the dry and whisk thoroughly. Whilst this is mixing, pour in the boiling water (don’t fret at its overly liquid state).

Fill your cake tins up 3/4 full with the mixture and bake in the oven for 40 minutes. Leave the cakes to cool completely on cooling racks. Try not to drop them, as I did. That’s not part of the plan…

Chocolate Orange Cake XII

Buttercream:

440g Butter

4-5 sprigs Rosemary

pinch of Salt

300g Icing Sugar

5 tbsp Double Cream

Melt half of the butter (220g) over a medium heat and add in the sprigs of rosemary. Leave to cool for a minimum of 6 hours.

Re-heat and melt this butter again to take out the rosemary and (yep, you guessed it) re-cool it. Don’t moan, I promise its worth the effort.

Meanwhile, beat the remaining butter until fluffy. Sift in the icing sugar and salt and beat some more. Then add in the rosemary infused butter and double cream. Beat, beat and beat again until whipped, light and airy.

Use on the day of making. For smoother icing dip your palette knife into a mug of hot water every so often.

Rosemary Icing

Then it is yours to decorate as you please! I used candied orange slices – for this cut up an orange and place in a shallow pan of 1 cup water and 2 cups sugar. Bring to the boil and then simmer until the oranges go slightly clear, take out and place on a tray to dry out a little.

Chocolate Orange Cake I

Thank you, hi and bye .

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

