Blackberries, Limes, Elderflower, Honey

Quick before it all goes...
Quick before it all goes…

There seemed to be too many parts to the cake to come up with a catchy name, so I went with a list. I’m an expert list maker (as I have just proved above). I’m not actually sure I’d make it as a functioning person without them. Does anyone else put things they’ve already done on their ‘To Do’ lists for the pure satisfaction of ticking them off? No? Just me?

A while back now I was asked to make a cake for a birthday party a friend of mine was throwing for her sister. I was told something with fruit would be best, only I couldn’t make up my mind on one, even two, flavours. Obviously I got around this problem and used everything! Why chose?! Decisions are the worst.

Quick before it all goes...
Quick before it all goes…

This cake was to feed 30 so I decided to give it 4 layers. You could say it was like an ogre…

It also resulted in me redecorating the dining room with jam…

Jam Painting

Ok so this is what I did:

The Blackberry & Lime Jam (…paint):

1 lb Blackberries

3 tbs Lime Juice

1/2 Caster Sugar

1 tbs Cornflour

Honey Icing:

240 ml Full Fat Coconut Milk (cold)

4 tbs Icing Sugar (sieved)

60 ml Honey

The Cake (double the mixture for 4 layers):

170g Pure (melted)

170g Caster Sugar

4 Eggs

1 Vanilla Pod (scraped out)

4 tbsp Elderflower Cordial

170g Plain Flour

Method:

Mix and puree the blackberries with the lime juice then place in a pan with the caster sugar and cornflour (here it helps to mix the cornflour with a little bit of cold water first to save it from going lumpy). Heat on a medium flame and stir until it boils. Remove from heat.
Next push this mixture through a sieve, getting rid of all the seeds/solids.

Pre-heat the oven to 180C and grease and line two 20cm round cake tins.

 Double sieved my flour and leave it aside in a bowl.
Then whisk together the eggs, caster sugar and vanilla seeds until thick and pale (it should have tripled in volume). Add you elderflower cordial then sift and fold in half of the flour. Then fold in the melted Pure followed by the second batch of flour.
Pour this into your prepared tin and bake until it’s a light golden colour and the centre springs back when lightly pressed. About 25 minutes.
Turn the cakes onto a wire rack and leave to cool. I also brushed a little more elderflower cordial onto the cakes, making them extra moist and elderflower-y…

Now whip the coconut milk with the icing sugar and honey until it reaches a thick consistency suitable for icing. 

Once the cakes and jam are completely cool, place your first layer on a plate. First spread with the blackberry and lime jam (go to the very edges), then spread a layer of honey coconut cream icing. Place the next layer on and repeat (if you doubled, then every layer is the same). I then covered the side of my cake with the remaining blackberry jam (this took a few layers and what lead to all the mess). 
I also cut some fresh blackberries in half to place on top. Do what you so desire though for decoration. 

Make a Birthday Wish
Make a Birthday Wish
2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. A wonderful result, the cake looks and sounds amazing! What feedback did you get from the guests?

Leave a Reply

