Chocolate Spread

I told you I could have Nutella
I told you I could have Nutella


This is not Nutella. But Nutella has a much better ring than ‘chocolate spread’. This is my dairy free version on Nutella, therefore, dark. Very dark.

Just the mention of the word Nutella in my last post made me miss it and crave it (I lied to myself when I said I didn’t). No-one can quite know or understand my love affair with it. It’s unhealthy in every sense of the word. So I can only try and recreate something to satisfy me.

I adapted this from Brown Eyed Baker (http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2013/02/21/homemade-nutella-recipe/)

Get excited for… The recipe:

230g hazelnuts

128g icing sugar

45g coco powder

2 or 3 tbsp hazelnut oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Roast the hazelnuts in the oven at a temperature of around 375C. When out of the oven and cool enough to handle remove the skins.

Put the hazelnuts in a food processor and whizz them until the oil comes out and they from a smooth, loose paste. This takes a little while, just keep them whizzing around.

Add the rest of the ingredients and keep processing until they are all incorporated, and the mixture becomes smooth and glossy.

Transfer to a jar and this will then keep for up to a month. It might go hard once cool, but once spread on warm toast it will become soft and spreadable again.

MMM

p.s. you can replace the hazelnut oil with vegetable oil if needs be!

Leave a Reply

