Scone in a moment

So I’ve been to my fair share of afternoon teas. Yes, I do actually really enjoy them even if it makes me an old lady. But I usually end up eating a tonne of dairy and then feeling guilty, which means it is not a win-win situation.
For some reason I have always avoided trying to make dairy-free scones. I think it stems from having a disastrous experience trying to make dairy-free pancakes (they stuck to the pan and it was genuine heartbreak).
I made a fresh batch of strawberry jam in the morning and my boyfriend hinted strongly for scones for when he came round. He refuses to eat most of my dairy-free substitutes so I decided not to tell him I was going to experiment. Some things are best left unsaid.

Scone with strawberry jam

I recently read somewhere that almond milk is much better to use in baking (I can’t tell you why though). And I’ve also decided I prefer this to my usual rice milk, so luckily I had some in the fridge, convenient for me! Basically the end story is that they worked and they tasted great. My boyfriend never even guessed anything different. He can never complain again…

Recipe:

225g self-raising flour
pinch of salt
55g Pure
25g caster sugar
150ml almond milk
4 tbsp maple syrup

Start by heating your oven to 220C and lining or greasing a baking tray.

Mix up the flour and salt, then use your fingers to rub in the Pure (harder than using butter unfortunately as it is softer, so just make sure your fingers are cold).
Next stir in the caster sugar, then the milk. It should form a soft dough.

Flour a work surface and tip out your dough. Knead it briefly before your pat it out to about 2cm thick.
Using a 5cm cutter, stamp out circles and place onto the baking tray. Keep patting out the dough and stamping out until you use it all up (even if the last one ends up as a slightly misshaped ball…).

Finally brush the tops of the scones with maple syrup (you can also use almond milk or a beaten egg).

Bake in the preheated oven for 12-15 minutes until risen and golden.

… Good luck making them last more than an hour … They are super tasty when warm.

Leave a Reply

