Biscuits, says me

Sesame

Ok that title is really bad. Maybe the worst yet. But it is trying to refer to the sesame biscuits I made earlier today. Forgive me.

My parents have just got back from a couple of months swanning around France in an H Van, enjoying all the beautiful French food markets. So since being back they’ve had to make do with Kingston market. Although it is actually nothing to complain about, quite the opposite. They came back yesterday with 20 figs for £3, and 4 huge tubs of some of the sweetest strawberries, all a £1 each. Hello bargains. Anyway, with friends for lunch I usually provide the sweet goods but this time the strawberries talked for themselves. I still had to do something though…

Shortbread is often quite a tasty accompaniment to fresh fruit but I can’t say I am that much of a fan. I looked for something lighter. More exciting. Seeds are healthy, we all know this. That means all those sesame seeds I bought are healthy. That means I cancel out all the fat and sugar. (Yes, I like my logic too). That means use them in some thin crispy biscuits!

Crispy Sesame Biscuit Recipe:

6 tbsp sesame seeds

6 oz light brown sugar

3 oz Pure

1 egg

2 oz plain flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla essence

Preheat the oven to 190C and line two baking trays.

Start by putting your sesame seeds in a dry frying pan and slowing heating and toasting until they go golden brown. (I did this after everything else and got really bored waiting for them so start it now!)

Next move on the creaming the sugar and Pure until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, then sift in the flour, baking powder and salt and mix well.

Add the vanilla essence and the sesame seeds and stir in until they are evenly distributed.

Drop small teaspoons of the mixture onto your lined trays and bake in the oven for 12-13 minutes, or until golden brown. They spread out when cooking so make sure you leave enough space in between each spoonful.

Enjoy with strawberries and maybe even a large dollop of a yoghurt alternative… such as goats milk yoghurt?

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. ..and if you are looking for the rest of them, they are now in Dorset :). Have biscuits, will travel xx

Leave a Reply

