Amaretti

Amaretti

A new day, a new biscuit. Wise words, yes?

I found a whole book dedicated to macaron making in the house and it’s all in French. I feel so inadequate speaking only English. Alas I am not a linguist. But I did flick through and decided to try a recipe anyway. I can barely make macarons using an English recipe, so I went for the Amaretti biscuits (still relatively similar).

They were by no means perfect, and next time I will probably stick to English but I am otherwise please with my interpreting skills. They’re still tasty.

Amaretti Biscuits and what I think is the Recipe:

2 egg whites

150g caster sugar

200g ground almonds

2 drops of Amaretto

Icing sugar for dusting

Preheat your oven to 180C.

Whisk up the egg whites, slowly to begin with, then increase the speed and gradually add the caster sugar. You want to egg whites to form stiff peaks when you lift the whisk out. Careful not to over whisk though.

Put a couple of spoonfuls of the ground almonds into the egg white mixture and stir to loosen. Tip the rest in and gently fold in with a spatula. Add the drops of Amaretto also folding in.

Roll up walnut sized balls of the mixture, place on a lined baking tray and flatten slightly. Alternatively, you could pipe them onto the baking tray.

Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes. Take out and dust with icing sugar (or you could also use granulated sugar for more of a crunch).

Leave to cool…. and eat them.

Leave a Reply

