A Fiver for a Favour

Goats Cheese Cheesecake

My boyfriend gave me an apple.

My boyfriend gave me a pear.

My boyfriend gave me a kiss on the lips and threw me down the stairs.

Did anyone else sing along to this playground clapping game? One of my personal favourites which writing the lyrics now, couldn’t seem more ridiculous (but then again, weren’t all those games?).

My boyfriend gave me a fiver. After meeting for a much needed lunch break in which I discovered all I could afford was a shot of espresso, my boyfriend showed his generous side and handed me a scrunched up note. Food!
“No…? Oh.” They say everything you do comes to a selfish end. Well this was exactly that. He wanted me to run to the shops and buy the ingredients for a cheesecake, a nice welcome home hug for when he got back from the library. Yes, his housewife knows her place. I fear I may sound like I have now succumbed to the stereotype of a women and not standing up for my feminist rights, but actually this is what I enjoy more than anything else to relax and he knows this best of all. Indulge!

But a cheesecake. A cheesecake I can eat? Is this possible? There is only one way to find this out I guess…

Base:

4 ginger biscuits
1 1/2 oz Pure, melted

Goats-Cheese Cheesecake:

3 1/2 oz soft goats cheese
1 tbsp icing sugar
juice and zest of 1 orange
1 egg white

Place two ramekins in the freezer for 10 minutes.

In the mean time blitz the ginger biscuits in a food processor until you get fine crumbs and then pour in the melted Pure.

Next beat together the goats cheese, icing sugar and orange juice and zest. Whisk up your egg white until they form stiff peaks and fold them into the goat cheese mixture.

Take out your ramekins and press the biscuit base into bottom, then spoon over your cheesecake mix. Place in the fridge to cool for at least 10 minutes.

I served mine with a handful of blackberries, firstly because they add a beautiful purple colour (not forgetting flavour too) and secondly because they were in the reduced section in Morrisons so it would be a sin to walk past and ignore them.

Leave a Reply

