Brownies with Caramel

Caramel Brownies
Caramel Brownies

Brownies are my go-to bake. I know what works, I have a fail proof recipe and I know they will always taste good. A crowd pleaser. I think I just go into autopilot, so it’s pretty stress free. I could even have a dance around the kitchen at the same time (after all “my name is Miss G. Three talents; 1 … 2, 3?”).

Mr G

(Literally love this ^ and have saved it onto my desktop to make me laugh every day.)
Anyway, because of this I occasionally like to jazz them up a bit, today I used a layer of caramel through the middle.

Caramel Brownies:

300g dark chocolate

100g Pure

1/2 tsp salt

3 eggs

50g light brown sugar

150g caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla essence

100g plain flour, sifted

Caramel:

50ml water

200g caster sugar

280ml soya cream

Preheat your oven to 180C and grease and line a brownie tin; I like to use a slightly smaller tin making the brownies thicker rather than having them stretch further, this will ensure they are lovely and gooey.
Melt your chocolate, pure and salt in a heatproof bowl over a pan of boiling water (bowl not touching the water below remember!).
In the meantime, break the eggs into a large mixing bowl and add both the sugars and vanilla. Incorporate together.
Once your chocolate mix has melted, take off the heat and whisk into the egg mixture. Then fold in your sifted flour.

For your caramel you want to add the water and sugar to a heavy-based saucepan and boil until the sugar dissolves and it turns a nice amber colour. Keep a close eye on this as it is easy to overdo! Once it reaches this stage take it off the heat and add the cream whilst constantly whisking, again be careful as it is likely to bubble violently and maybe even spit…

Pour half of your brownie mixture into the tin followed by a layer of caramel then cover again with the rest of your brownie mix.

Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes. You want them firm on top but a knife shouldn’t come out clean.

Leave a comment