Curd your Enthusiasm

Raspberry Curd

Today the attention is focused on my dad, it’s his 52nd birthday. Lucky him! Every birthday means a breakfast of american pancakes. I reckon this guarantees for a good day and means everyone can enjoy the celebrations! It even makes up for the fact I had to get up at 7.30 to make them along with a cake (which I will post separately), all before church. But pancakes isn’t what I am writing about today. Today I’m sharing a dairy-free, egg-free recipe for raspberry curd. Something that goes really well with thick, fluffy pancakes!

This is actually one of the elements needed for the cake but it would also be pretty tasty with sorbet, ice cream, brioche, whatever sweet-treat tickles your fancy… Its lovely deep purple colour would also dress up your desserts. I love a good lemon curd (though I only rediscovered it about two months ago) and now I find excuses to have it with everything. It’s sweet, but not too sweet, velvety in texture and very moorish. But why stop at lemon curd! I could create a rainbow! (Blackberry curd might soon follow…)

So here is the recipe for you:

450g raspberries (fresh or I used frozen)

100ml water

zest and juice of one orange

60g of pure (or any dairy-free margarine)

40g cornflour

4tbs cold water

Start by putting your raspberries, water and orange juice and zest in a heavy based saucepan and bring to the boil. (I love the colour of the orange and raspberries). Once boiling, reduce to a simmer and leave this for about five minutes or until the berries start to go soft and mushy.
Push this mixture through a sieve and return to the heat, adding in the sugar and butter. Stir until dissolved.
In the meantime, stir the cornflour and water together to make a paste and pour into the pan. Use a hand whisk to blend into the raspberry puree and keep this up until it is thick and bubbling (should take about three minutes).
Remove from the heat and allow to cool completely where it should then begin to set….Eat.

I’m going to leave you with this clip even if it has nothing to do with curd. Enjoy – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rBNOB7FkSSM&NR=1

Oooh! And one more thing before I finish. I learnt today that you should always add cold water to cornflour and make a paste before you add it to your mixture. If you don’t do this you will end up with hard, rock-like lumps which will not dissolve. Not the end of the day as you can put it back through a sieve but it’s not ideal.

IMG_3557

Leave a Reply

