Best of Both

I was challenged today to make both a gluten and dairy free cake. Some people just have to be difficult. Though I am not in a position to get annoyed as this is usually me. Anyway, they wanted chocolate and cream and caramel and the list goes on; everything they just didn’t think they could enjoy any more. Fortunately for them they know me and I was feeling nice. Save the day once again. (O.K that sounds big headed, I apologise). But they were thankful.

An alternative for flour is often ground almonds but I sometimes find it gives your cakes a more grainy texture so instead of this my alternative was cocoa powder and (only because I ran out of coco) icing sugar. More chocolate! More sugar! It cannot be a bad thing right?! On top of this I stocked up on soya cream to make a caramel sauce to drizzle over. It would make nice icing too but it was straight from the oven and the hob all the way over to the other side of York so cooling periods were out of the equation.

So just as a pre-warning, this cake is extra extra gooey and you will have to eat it with a spoon rather than a fork. But I get the feeling everyone can deal with that. Although if you left it to cool long enough, say, the next day, it would be a more solid and manageable ‘goo’ and you could have an actual slice of it rather than a dollop.

120g dark chocolate

120g butter

150g caster sugar

80g coco powder (here i used a mix of 60g coco and 20g icing sugar)

3 eggs, beaten

1 tsp vanilla extract

Preheat your oven to 150 degrees C and grease a round cake tin and dust with coco powder.

In a bowl over simmering water melt the chocolate and butter*. Then remove from the heat and stir in all the other ingredients  Pour into your tin and bake for 30 minutes. There. That was probably easier than your everyday sponge cake!

*Here is something I learnt the other day and thought I would share:

When melting chocolate with other things, always start with them together. Adding ingredients later will cause the chocolate to separate or get other crazy ideas like solidifying against your will.

Maybe everyone already knew this but I was slow on the uptake and just thought chocolate decided to occasionally disagree with me. Leaving me sad. Very sad. What a waste of good chocolate.

Leave a Reply

