I scream, You scream, We All Scream, ICE CREAM

I, like the rest of humanity, love ice cream, and no, it does not have to be summer to enjoy this treat. However, this summer, I just discovered the joys of goat’s milk ice cream, a lactose free alternative for me to feast on and, in return, laugh at all those who say I can’t have my way. Yet there was one problem in that I had to travel to Borough market (and only on a Friday and Saturday) in order to enjoy this treat (although this may only be a problem because I am too greedy, but I like to think everyone would feel the same way).

I also happened to discover some when travelling in Turkey. Whilst I watched my friends daily indulge in an ice cream in the mid day heat (I consoled myself in the fact I was just loosing a few pounds), little did I know that just in front of me stood a whole stall of different ice cream flavours I thought were too tempting to even look at. Am I sounding a bit overboard? Well to get to the point I found ice cream made from goats milk in the small town of Kalkan and I could even have chocolate ice cream. It differed from my previous purchases in that it had a stretchy consistency which will forever baffle me, but for me it was the making and the highlight of my week.

Later at home I decided to have some mid-week fun and experiment with a little goats milk of my own. I found a regular ice cream recipe which I had wanted to make anyway and just converted the ‘whole milk’ into ‘goat milk’ and the ‘double cream’ into ‘soya cream’. It was so easy! And I expected at least a few attempts to get it right… Alas! It worked perfectly first time. Beginners luck? Only time will tell.

Mint Choc Chip Goats Milk Ice Cream:

140g dar chocolate

400ml goat milk

300ml soya cream

1 vanilla pod, split

75g fresh mint leaves

4 egg yolks

140g caster sugar

Break up the dark chocolate into small chunks. The easiest way to do this is breaking it into a blender and whizzing it up until desired size.

Next find a heavy-based saucepan and pour in the milk and cream, add the seeds from the vanilla pod. Heat this mixture, stirring occasionally, until it is almost boiling. Then add your mint leaves, cover with a lid and leave for half an hour.

You will then need to strain this mixture through a muslin, pressing the mint with a spoon to get out maximum flavour. (The leaves can then be thrown away).

Whisk the egg yolks with the caster sugar until it thickens and goes pale (roughly about 5 minutes).

Return the mint and cream mixture to a pan and heat again until almost boiling.

Pour half of this hot cream into the egg mix and whisk to combine everything before adding the rest. There you have your custard. Return the custard to the pan and cook over a low heat, always stirring until it thickens slightly, give it 3 to 4 minutes (here you may find it doesn’t go very thick, mine didn’t but I found it didn’t matter too much once churned). Do not over heat or it may curdle.

Leave the custard to cool, stirring every so often and then chill in the fridge (often good to leave it over night but I have no patience so plunged the bowl into a bucket of ice)

When it is ready pour into your ice-cream maker and churn until it’s frozen. Add the chocolate pieces just before it sets.

If you don’t have a machine pour into a large container and freeze for 2-3 hours until the sides are icy, then whisk thoroughly to break up the crystals and freeze again. Repeat this step about three times.

Now everyone can enjoy ice cream!

Leave a Reply

